Late night hospital visits

As I write this I am currently sitting in a patient room in the ER. After a late night wake up call, I brought my mom in for a kidney stone. She’s suffered from them for longer than my lifetime. From the time she called me to her finally getting some pain medication was about an hour. Considering it took about 10 minutes for me to pick her up, 10 minutes to get her out to the car, and 20 minutes to drive to the ER, I’d say we got admitted pretty quickly.

My mom is seriously loopy on pain meds. She first told me that everything was light blue. And she keeps repeating that her mouth is dehydrated. Apparently that’s different from just being dry. And she’s a little giggly. It’s funny to watch. I debated recording her but decided against it. Hospital gowns don’t make for flattering apparel.

I have to work in 5 1/2 hours. They just brought her back from CT. Hopefully once they get those images back we’ll have an idea of how much longer we’ll be in here. I am gonna be tired tomorrow. And I have a lot that I need to get done at work. This is life though. Mom’s oxygen alarm keeps going off. Apparently the drugs are making her forget to breathe. And now she’s off to pee in a cup. I’m ready for a nap.

Leave a Reply

